Uni Orientation:Day 1

Good evening guys 🙂

So today I had orientation and to be honest it was a great experience (not going to lie for me the highlight of today was getting the freebies). First half of the morning was hectic there were over a thousand students lining up to register and then we grouped together for the welcoming ceremony of the Vice Chancellor. After that, we had seperate welcoming’s for each department. Anyways, I won’t bore you with my orientation timetable however, I will let you know one of the greatest experiences that I have learnt today.

As you all know I think everyone’s biggest fear in not only university but just in general is not being able to ‘fit in,’ or ‘blend in.’ Today I felt somewhat uncomfortable and I guess just not used to walking around campus or sitting and eating by myself. I did meet a few people but once our workshops were over we all departed different ways.  I felt almost as if I was an outsider or loner in a way as I watched almost everyone walk around in their group of friends. I pretty much didn’t know what to do with myself as I sat there, as for me it was weird because I’ve always had people around me.  I know it may seem dumb or immature to some of you of how I felt today but I’m sure that everywhere you go even workplaces that there are always cliques and everyone has in some point in their lives have felt that fear.

As the day drew nearer I learnt to except it and realised that I actually enjoyed my own company. I feel as too often are we surrounded by others that we forget to sometimes isolate ourselves and embrace our own company. Personally for me today, it has helped me kind of know myself better and just have a clearer mind on the things I need to get done for the day to draw closer to my goals. It has also given me a taste of what independence really feels like and what it’s like to “adult.”

What I found out today about myself is that me being with a group of people was a safety blanket for me, and that removing it made me feel lost when really I shouldn’t at all. I look forward for second day of orientation of not only meeting new people but also embracing my own company. So overall today wasn’t at all bad as I turned a negative thought into a positive experience and got freebies and a lot of student discount vouchers, a win-win if you ask me. Let me know if you’ve ever felt like this at school or work, anywhere.

In the meantime, keep it real. Keep it simple. Keep it YOU.

organic

 

Leave a Reply

